Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Main Navigation


Ajax Loading Image


Board Minutes, December 11, 2017

Call to Order                The regular monthly meeting of the USD #256 Board of Education was called to order by President, Steve Becker, in the district office on Monday evening, December 11, 2017, at 7:00 p.m. 

Members Present         Members present were Kris Smith, Steve Becker, Bill Bigelow, Mark Spillman, and Bob Rhodes.  Also present were Ken McWhirter, Kim Ensminger, and Sherry Henry.

Consent Agenda          Mark Spillman moved to approve the December consent agenda items a through c as presented.  Kris Smith seconded the motion, and it carried 5 – 0.

Audiences                    There were no audiences.

Reports                        The administrative reports were given.

Press Box Update        Ken McWhirter gave the board an update on the press box quotes.  The board asked for a quote from the construction class.

Business Store             Consensus by the board was to allow the Business Class to conduct an apparel store as long as it is grant funded.

Carry/Conceal Ins.       Current EMC Insurance will not allow carry/conceal weapons.  Insurance can be obtained for this option at a much higher cost.  There was no action taken.

Building Rental            Two churches requested use of the buildings from time to time.  Consensus was to allow use pending insurance liability.     

                                    Joshua Herrmann arrived at the meeting at 7:48 p.m.

Bus Purchase               The board directed the superintendent to solicit bids for a new Bluebird bus.

Building Security         Discussion of building security was held.  The board gave consensus to purchase cameras for outside the shop area.

Personnel                     There were no personnel items.

Adjournment               Joshua Herrmann moved the meeting be adjourned.  Mark Spillman seconded the motion, and it carried 6 – 0.  The meeting adjourned at 8:29 p.m.


                                    Steve Becker, President                                  



Sherry Henry, Clerk